UTech, Jamaica Presents 60th Anniversary Scholarship Awards to Sixty High Achievers

Professor Colin Gyles (right), Acting President, University of Technology, Jamaica presents the University’s 60th Anniversary Scholarship cheque of $100,000 to outstanding students from left,  Howard Jackson (GPA 3.83, Faculty of The Built Environment), Chantelle Britton (GPA 3.89, Faculty of Science and Sport), and Sarah Nelson (GPA 3.86, College of Health Sciences).

(L-R) Annay Wheatle (GPA 3.94, Faculty of Law), Kheona Martin (GPA 3.69, Faculty of Education and Liberal Studies) and Segan Stubbs (GPA 3.93, Joint Colleges of Medicine, Oral Health and Veterinary Sciences) receive their 60th Anniversary Scholarship cheques from Professor Colin Gyles, Acting President.

Professor Colin Gyles, Acting President, presents the University’s 60th Anniversary Scholarship cheques to outstanding students from left Nia Scott (GPA 3.95, Faculty of Engineering and Computing) and Saharah Henry (GPA 3.85, College of Business and Management).

Sixty undergraduate high achievers were presented the University of Technology, Jamaica 60th Anniversary Scholarship by Professor Colin Gyles, Acting President, University of Technology, Jamaica on May 14, 2021 at the University’s Papine Campus. The scholarship, valued at $100,000.00 each, were awarded to the most outstanding students of the University’s three colleges and five faculties who attained the highest Grade Point Average (GPA) scores of above 3.5 in the Academic Year 2019/2020. The scholarship was established in 2018 as part of activities in commemoration of the University’s 60th Anniversary and is one of the means through which the University recognizes and encourages student academic excellence.

Professor Colin Gyles, Acting President, had high praises for the scholarship recipients, noting that “this is a very important occasion where we are recognizing student excellence during these extraordinary times.” The Acting President indicated that it is important to commend and celebrate our students on their exceptional performance, though the University was not able to host a formal ceremony, owing to restrictions of the COVID-19 pandemic. He expressed gratitude to members of academic staff for their continued dedication to advancing teaching and learning at the University.

Dr. Haldane Johnson, Acting Deputy President, in adding his commendations to the high achievers, noted that the GPA scores for this year’s presentation had increased by 1.5% over the last academic year, indicating a marked improvement in academic performance.

Faculty of Engineering and Computing high achiever, 3rd Year student, Sabrina Powell, who was one of two students with the highest a GPA of 3.95, speaking on behalf of the scholarship awardees, thanked the University’s lecturers and administrative staff for their continued support and mentorship over the years.

She congratulated her fellow awardees and expressed gratitude to the Acting President and to the Deans of the respective Colleges and Faculties for the recognition of students efforts and hard work.


Congratulations to all 60th Anniversary Scholarship Awardees:



Michelle Beckford (Mrs.)
Corporate Communications Manager
University of Technology, Jamaica
Telephone: 876 970-5299 
Email: mbeckford@utech.edu.jm